TagorePrize is a legacy to Rabindranath Tagore, his outstanding contribution to Indian and international literature, as well as to the cultural, educational and humane ideas he pursued throughout his life.


The criteria for winning the award are:

  • creativity,
  • outstanding literary relevance,
  • promotion of peace and national, cultural and religious tolerance,
  • preserving linguistic and cultural heritage, and
  • being socially conscious in character.


Eligibility and submissions:

  • Eligible are published works of Indian authors (residing in India or abroad), in print or electronic format, in novel, short stories, poetry and drama, originally written in any of Indian official languages and dialects, but translated to English. 
  • Entries must be in English (translated to or originally written in English).
  • The winners prize, awarded annually, amounts to US$10 000. In case of translation, amount is divided equally between the author and the translator.
  • Self translated works are eligible.
  • Self published works are ineligible.
  • Authors that previously won, or have been shortlisted for Rabindranath Tagore Literary Prize, can be eligible again, for their different titles.
  • Our judging committee is responsible for selection and reading of eligible works and completing the shortlist of 10 books from which they choose the winner. Publishers, publicists and authors are welcome to suggest their entries. 
  • The number of entries is not restricted.
  • The submission is free of charge.
  • Additional to the entries, short biography of the author (and the translator) must be included.

Submissions for Rabindranath Tagore Literary Prize 2020 are open.

Submit your entries in electronic format at info@tagoreprize.com or use our Submission Form here.

For inquiries and mailing address for submissions of print copies, click here 


The laureate will be publicly announced at the presentation of the prize, and our social media – website,  Instagram @tagoreprize,Twitter @tagoreprize,  and Facebook @tagoreprize